Summer is here at last!

Warm sunny days and plenty of sunshine seems to be the recipe of success in my vegetable and cut flower garden this year. I’ve finally dug up the last of my garlic and have them hanging to dry on my patio fence.

I don’t know if I’m happy because its summer and my vegetable garden is starting to go crazy, or the fact I went for my first two swims and read a good book by the pool for the first time this year.

Because of the winds, I’ve resorted to using a sprinkler to give my vegetables a deep soak of water. The ground dries out so fast as a result of the wind. I let the sprinkler do its thing for about a half hour and go about doing something else and then come back to move the water.ImageImage

I’ve started picking small amounts of my cherry tomatoes and from my Supice variety of tomato (not sure of spelling). Also coming on strong with picking nearly everyday is my Gold zuccinni. So far I have picked for Armenian cucumbers and two lemon cucumbers and lot of zinnias for display in the living room. My strawberries are spreading like crazy.

Unfortunately I only have a couple of  photos to share right now. Most of them are still on my camera to be downloaded. And right now as I write this, I am sitting in front of Peet’s Coffee & Tea.

Maybe when I get home I will try and just do a big batch of photos.

Leave a Reply

